My Sleeping Literary Mind

Do you ever feel like there is a part of you that is sleeping? It’s like deep down inside there is a part of you that is hibernating waiting for the warmth of spring to show itself. You know it’s there.

You can hear it breathing, but it’s still.

Dormant.

image_179

I’m sitting in my office right now at the desk you see to the left, waiting for a worship service this evening and I feel that way about writing. I know deep down inside that I’m supposed to write. Probably not today. Maybe not tomorrow. But at some point, I believe my literary mind will groggily awaken, yawn, and the process will begin.

But it’s frustrating. It’s almost like an out of body experience. I can see myself writing. I can hear myself mulling over the syntax and yet, when I actually go to write anything of any substance, I flat line and there is nothing…

I can’t wait for spring and the awakening of what I can only believe is an important part of who I’m supposed to be.

~ by David on Wednesday, November 5, 2008.

One Response to “My Sleeping Literary Mind”

  1. So, I’m not the only one who has felt like that. Maybe I passed it on to you! For many years now, I have been convinced that there is a best-seller hidden away somewhere in my gray matter…no, I’m not referring to my hair. Anyway, keep looking for that part of you, I know it will surface one of these days. Maybe mine will too! Oh, by the way, Happy Birthday, again!!!

Leave a Reply

 
