Censorship

When I was in high school I was an editor for our high school’s newspaper; an award winning newspaper nonetheless. It was an incredible experience that taught me the value of journalism, freedom of speech, ethics, journalistic responsibility, etc. That was in large part possible because the school district and school itself did not subject student publications to prior review; essentially school district imposed censorship.

Well now the Puyallup is looking to do just that, and not just with journalism, but really across the board when it comes to speech, drama, etc.

I was at my favorite coffee shop today and in walked a school board member who is also looking to be a state representative. I couldn’t help feeling angry towards him because of his stance and his involvement in censoring students journalists. Not a good thing, but that’s how I felt..

~ by David on Friday, September 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
