As A Dawg Returns To Its Vomit

Either I’m dedicated or a fool. Your call.

Year after year, I cheer on the Washington Huskies. They are my team. More than the Seahawks, or the Mariners, or the Sonics (RIP), The University of Washington football team is my team. For years that was a great things. I grew up watching the Huskies go to Rose Bowls and compete for national championships. However, over the last 4-5 years U-Dub football has been sickening.

This season has yet to be the exception.

This may sound crazy but my heart literally hurts, week after week watching the huskies either get their heads handed to them or blow games with stupid penalties (like today).

It’s like this…

You’re in love with someone and keep dating off and on. You keep going back to the person because they say they have changed and you want so desperately to believe that’s true that you open yourself back up to the risk of heartache, hoping and praying that things will be different this time. Only each time you are let down again, and again and again.

The reality is you know that you can’t keep going on like this. It’s not healthy. It’s a distraction. But, you can’t cut ties with the one you love.

That’s my relationship with the Huskies. I remember the good ol’days and long to have them back again. Yet, week after week, year after year they let me down.

I feel like the fool in Proverbs 26:11 “As a dog returns to its vomit, so a fool repeats his folly.” – in this case it is “as a dawg” returns to its vomit…nice play on words…you see how I did that…haha…uh hmm…anyway…

When oh when, will the right the ship?!…I’ve got to get the taste of vomit out of my mouth!

~ by David on Saturday, September 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
