“I’ll Be There For You”

My wife Monika loves the TV show “Friends” and over the years I have come to enjoy it quite a bit myself. It’s definitely not the most spiritual show in the world, but it points out to me the significance of having people in your life who you can count on for anything.

I had some great friends in high school but as I went off to college there were only a few people who I really connected with. I’m not sure why that is. Maybe I wasn’t as outgoing. Maybe I didn’t try hard enough to meet people. Whatever the case maybe there are only a few people from college that I really stay in touch with.

Over the last couple years however I have had the great pleasure of meeting some amazing people and starting some deep friendships. Friendships that I believe will last a long time.

I hope that these are the types of friendships that twenty years down the road I “mark my life by,” as John Ortberg says in the article below on the same topic

I want these friendship to defy distance and time, ups and downs, kids, job changes and personal hurts.

We all need these types of relationships. They are God’s blessing to us and they help us remember that we are not alone on this journey of life.

Check out Ortberg’s story

~ by David on Monday, May 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
