Words of Affirmation

My Life Coach Lichty gave me the assignment the other day of figuring out the love languages of the three most important person and professional relationships in my life. Great question and it got me thinking about how mine is “words of affirmation.” There really are few things that mean more to me than hearing someone say that they appreciate me or recognize something I have done well. For some people their love language is touch or quality time or acts of service or gifts. But for me, I need that verbal encouragement.

I’ve been experiencing some of that over the course of the last few days and it’s amazing how your perspective on things can change when you know that you are valued or that people see potential in you.

Maybe my desire for words of affirmation comes from insecurity. I’ve never thought of myself as an insecure person. In fact I’ve thought just the opposite. But maybe there is a part of me that is insecure. Or, maybe it’s an ego thing. I try not to have an ego. I try to stay humble and grounded. I try to empower others and put them in positions to receive credit for accomplishments. But maybe there is some ego issue.

Whatever the case may be, I value encouraging words. They make me feel good, they give me hope, they keep me dreaming and pushing on towards bigger and better things.

So, thank you to those of you who have expressed your faith in my over the last few days. It truly means a lot. Probably more than you know.

~ by David on Friday, April 25, 2008.

One Response to “Words of Affirmation”

  1. You’re awesome David…..there ya go….another word of affirmation….

Leave a Reply

 
