A Test Of My Leadership

In ministry we are always talking about “leadership.” We talk about how we are in roles of leadership, how we need people to be volunteer leaders, how we are trying to lead people into relationships with Christ, etc. Leadership is central to ministry. period.

For me personally, leadership is not only a component of my job it’s ultimately a passion of mine.  I love being able to lead people from point A to point B, to get something out of someone that they didn’t even know was there, to see a team synergize and become a cohesive unit, to mentor students in such a way that they develop as leaders. It’s a passion.

I am currently part of a camp planning team that is filled with great leaders. People who make a living by leading people and people who are passionate about many of the same things I’m passionate about. I’ve gotten to know many of these people pretty well over the last few years as a result of other events, trips, teams, committees, etc and I am excited to work with them.

However, I have to admit that I am a little nervous. This year I am in charge of the team planning and creating the decorations to theme out the camp. Yikes! While I’m all about creating a good vibe and making a space look and feel good, I’m not exactly the most artsy person. So, this task is going to be a challenge. But with that challenge comes great opportunity. This is an opportunity for me to expand my network, an opportunity for me to develop my artistic eye, and most definitely an opportunity for me to work on effective delegation. In the end I have no doubt that we will have incredible decorations, but this will undoubtedly be a test of my leadership.

 Here we go God, I’m leanin’ on you.

~ by David on Monday, March 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
