My Weaknesses

I’m in a weird situation right now at work where I see opportunities to take advantage of my skills and strengths. Ways that I can pursue areas of passion and gifting, but due to the ministry’s season I’m having to navigate areas of weakness. Areas that if I am completely honest, drain me.

We all have those things that excite us and give us life. We also all have those tasks, responsibilities, etc. that drain us.

 Marcus Buckingham in his book, “Go Put Your Strengths To Work,”  defines a strength as something that makes you feel strong. Go Figure. This seems like a duh statement until you consider the fact that often times we view the things that we are good at as our strengths. This is sometimes true, but often times there are things in our lives that we are good at, but drain the life right out of us.

It is my hope and prayer that I as I tackle those tasks that drain me, I will be given the necessary perspective, endurance, wisdom and patience to be not only successful in those tasks but also energized and uplifted. 

My mind isn’t quite in the right place to feel energized and uplifted at this particular point on this particular evening. But God is good, God is faithful and I know that he has been preparing me for such a time as this.

~ by David on Tuesday, February 12, 2008.

One Response to “My Weaknesses”

  1. Don’t be afraid to ask for assistance while navigating through the areas of weakness. Often there is someone else who can come along side and use their strengths to assist. I can’t believe you have very many weaknesses. I pray God’s gives you strength and direction. Thanks for your dedication and service.

Leave a Reply

 
